Board of Commissioners

We're an independent public utility governed by a Board of Commissioners.

Three Commissioners are elected at-large by majority vote and serve six-year terms. The mayor of Charleston and an appointed city council member are ex-officio members of the board.

The Board acts as an oversight and policy-making body and has full authority to approve contracts, purchase property, and authorize water / wastewater rate adjustments.

The utility's daily operations are carried out by a staff of 430 associates. Executive management consists of five officers.

For info about the election of board members, contact the Charleston County Board of Elections and Voter Registration or the SC Election Commission (843) 745-2226)

Board Meetings

Our Board of Commissioners meets on a monthly basis to discuss policy matters, review financial information, approve contracts, etc. Items discussed at Board meetings, as well as procedural requirements and meeting scheduling, is specified in the Commission By-Laws and Rules of Procedure, which you can read here.

Board Members

Thomas B. Pritchard, Chairman

First Elected: 1999
Current Term: 2018 - 2023
Thomas B. Pritchard, Chairmain
A native Charlestonian, Mr. Pritchard attended USC as an Alumni Scholar and served as the Chief of Staff to the student body president; he graduated cum laude in 1989 with a B.A. degree in Political Science.

Mr. Pritchard received his law degree from USC in 1992 and served as the law clerk for the Honorable William L. Howard, Sr., resident judge of the Ninth Judicial Circuit. He was admitted to the South Carolina Bar in 1992, and the US District Court for the District of South Carolina and the US Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit in 1993.

He is a member of the Charleston County Bar, the South Carolina Bar, the American Bar Association, the South Carolina Defense Trial Attorneys' Association, and the Defense Research Institute.

David E. Rivers, Vice Chairman

First Elected: 2003
Current Term: 2016 - 2021
David Rivers, Commissioner
David E. Rivers is a Professor and Director of the Public Information and Community Outreach at the Medical University of South Carolina. He has served the University in a number of capacities since January 1995.

During the past thirty-five years, he has held senior-level positions in the City of Atlanta government, the Atlanta Regional Commission, Georgia State University, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the U.S. Department of Energy and the District of Columbia Government.

Dr. Rivers received his Bachelor of Science degree in Urban Affairs from Georgia State University and his Master of Arts degree in Political Science/Public Administration from Georgia State University, where he has completed course work for the Ph.D. in Political Science. He is also a graduate of the National Urban Fellows Program in Public Administration from Yale University. He is a graduate of the Riley Institute Diversity Leadership Program at Furman University and recently received an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Allen University.

Dr. Rivers serves as Chairman of the James E. Clyburn Research and Scholarship Foundation. He is also President of the Jonathan Green Foundation. He is a member of the National Forum for Black Public Administrators, American Water Works Association, Water Environment Federation, and the 100 Black Men of Charleston, SC.

Dr. Rivers is a Board Member of the South Carolina Aquarium in Charleston, SC; National Urban Fellows in New York, NY; the Alliance for Digital Equality in Atlanta, GA; the Congressional Black Caucus Institute’s 21st Century Council Executive Committee; Rural Mission, Inc.; Advisory Board Member of Charleston First Reliance Bank; the Art Form and Theater Concepts, Inc.; the Trident Urban League; the National Caucus and Center for Black Aged, Inc.; the Charleston Enterprise Community Health Center; and the National Brownfields Association of South Carolina – Executive Committee. He has also served as a Board Member of the Community Foundation and the Charleston Regional Development Alliance.

Kathleen G. Wilson

Elected 2019
Current Term: 2020 - 2025
David Rivers, Commissioner
Kathleen Wilson has served the Charleston region in multiple capacities. She earned a bachelor of music and master of music in harp performance from the Cleveland Institute of Music, serving as principal harpist with the Charleston Symphony, North Charleston Pops and as a guest with other regional orchestras. She is recognized as one of the foundational musicians through the decades of growth within Charleston, the go-to musician of choice. She holds adjunct teaching positions as instructor of harp at Charleston Southern University and the College of Charleston and maintains a freelancing schedule.

She was elected to Charleston City Council in 2005 and served as Mayor Pro Tempore in 2008. She served full three terms as a council member before being elected to serve Charleston Water System.

In addition to professional and public service, Kathleen has spent a career as a marathon swimmer of international reputation. She was the first female swimmer in history to complete marathon swimming’s Grand Slam, the 13th swimmer overall to complete the Triple Crown and first South Carolina resident to swim the English Channel. She introduced this new sport to South Carolina and continues to serve the sport as race creator and director of the annual Swim Around Charleston and through SwimCalm, a unique teaching system for adults with fear of water who wish to swim.

Kathleen has been awarded the Order of the Palmetto, she ran the anchor leg of the 2002 Olympic torch relay in South Carolina and was inducted into the South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame in 2018. She is also a Liberty Fellow. Kathleen has served on the Charleston Area Convention and Visitors Board of Governors, the Charleston Museum, the South Carolina State Municipal Association Board of Directors and the Berkeley/Charleston/Dorchester Council of Governments Board of Directors.

Perry K. Waring, Charleston City Council

(District 7)
Appointed, 2016
Councilmember Perry K Waring
Perry K. Waring was appointed to our Board of Commissioners in January 2016.

Read his bio on the city of Charleston's website.

Mayor John J. Tecklenburg

City of Charleston
Mayor John J Tecklenburg
Read Mayor Tecklenburg's bio on the city of Charleston's website.